519
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-519,qode-social-login-1.1.3,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-1.1,select-theme-ver-6.5,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_menu_,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

Home Away From Home

Korean-American artists Joori Jung, dancer and choreographer, and Na Frenette, film director, have collaborated to create a dance film “Home Away From Home” that acts as a Stop Asian Hate PSA.


The PSA follows Joori, a Detroit artist who experienced a hate crime as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. The story follows Joori’s personal journey in embracing her culture and finding the courage to stand up against Asian-American hate. Film Director Na Frenette describes the film as “sincere and connected… steeped with honest and raw emotion”, which helps the audience feel the unexpected, poetic, and dignified tone that is displayed in Joori’s movements. This film extends empathy and comfort towards Asian Americans through an artistic sensitivity and approach. The film was created with special funding support from the Michigan Asian Pacific American Affairs Commission. #homeawayfromhome #stopasianhate #horangis #koreandetroitcreators #joorijung #nafrenette


Film Credits
Starring: Joori Jung (@superdancingmomjj)
Director: Na (@na.frenette)
Producer: Ashley Carey (@ashhc_)
Cinematographer: Richie Trimble (@richietrimbledop)
Assistant Camera: Jeff Tabb (@jefftabb)
Art Dept: Amy Small (@amyfisherprice)
Gaffer: Dave Saint George
Grip: Trevor Stevens
Hair/Makeup: Lisette Munoz (@@lisette_makeup)
Production Assistant: Abriana Walton (@brifromthed)
Editor: Santi (@saint_ward)
Colorist: Phil Choe (@philchoe)
Music By: William Ryan Fritch (@williamryanfritchmusic)
Mixer: Ethan Cohen (@weathercitizen)
SPECIAL THANKS
Jung and Lee Family (@aidenchanglee)
Mike Han (@mikehan_detroit)
Joshua Magee (@joshuamagee)
Rob Cousineau (@rob_cousineau)
Stratton Camera (@stratton.camera)
Tibbs Inc. (@tibbs_inc)
Seline Lim, Art Design (@seline.s.lim)